Citizen Renee

By: bmshep

Jun 07 2010

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: Female Citizens

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5
Focal Length:65mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/50 sec
Camera:FinePix S5Pro

This is Renee. I met Renee at Weatherstone cafe tonight. Renee is a Fresno native who is living in Folsom for the summer before heading back to San Francisco State in the fall. She is studying women and gender studies and hopes to complete a masters in public health or human sexuality. She also plays guitar, writes songs and sings. When she first moved to San Francisco to go to school, Renee didn’t know anybody and the loneliness led to too much drinking. She says the guitar saved her. Even though she’s played since jr. high, it’s in the last year that she has started to write songs and perform them. She admits that it’s not happy music, but it’s cathartic for her and helps her let go of some things. Renee has also recently revived a long love of horses and may help a friend train on her farm. So, she’s got lots of options, and she’s happy about that. After several years of ups and downs, it’s nice to be in a good place. Renee is 22.

Favorite Accomplishments: Moving to Peru by myself when I was 19 and surviving reckless adventures into the Amazon and Bolivia. Growing into a woman with dignity and integrity after all of my years of free-spiriting.

Regrets: Not following my dreams sooner and getting sidetracked by worldly temptations. I would not, however, change anything. Everything has led me to this moment and I can say with complete honesty that I have a beautiful life today.

What are your passions and obsessions? Coffee and cigarettes. Horses and jumping. Playing guitar and singing broken heartedly. Finding my higher power. Literature and writing. Dark movies like ‘Buffalo 66’ and ‘Requiem For a Dream’. Women and gender studies. Reproductive freedom and justice.

Why Peru? My older sister was living and working there. I went for a visit and loved it. I got a job at a place where foreigners come to learn Spanish. I also thought going there would help me not party so much, but that didn’t really work out.

What’s something about you that surprises people? That I sing and perform. I was always a closeted musician until recently. Most people don’t know of my love for horse riding either.

What’s the toughest thing you’ve ever gone through? My parents’ divorce when I was 15. Getting sober. (1 year sober next week!)

Sound Off: “If I’m not raw, I’m just a bit underdone”

Some of Renee’s songs: http://www.myspace.com/missionofmoths1

Thanks Renee. Looking forward to the CD!

 

Leave a Reply

