Citizen Neveen

By: bmshep

May 18 2010

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Female Citizens

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5
Focal Length:62mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:FinePix S5Pro

This is Neveen. Neveen was born in Jordan and lived there until she was 8 years old. Her mother, “the pants and the skirt” of the family, decided they needed to emigrate to the U.S. for a better life. Her mother worked at a hair salon and her dad was a carpenter, neither of them went to high school. First they landed in Jacksonville, Florida and then to San Francisco, and finally to Sacramento. Two months after moving to Sacramento, her father passed away due to complications with obesity. That event has spurred Neveen in her efforts to maintain a healthy lifestyle and help others to do the same. Neveen, although she has a job as a dental tech, is back in school to become a nutritionist. She also maintains a busy spiritual life. Even though she was born in Jordan, Neveen was raised Catholic and says that Jordan is actually about half Muslim and half Christian. Growing up she had both Muslim and Christian friends, but her mom didn’t encourage the non-Christian relationships as much. The religions don’t mix that easily. Neveen likes all kinds of music and likes to read spiritual books and the Bible. Neveen is 30.

Favorite Accomplishments: Running 2 1/2 marathons and going back to college to work on a nutrition degree.

Regrets: I feel God has put me in every situation, in the past and present, to make me the person I am today. I have no regrets.

What are your passions and obsessions: My passion is being healthy and helping others to become healthy. Working out, running, eating healthy, and reading spiritual books.

What is your favorite memory of Jordan? Hanging out with my uncle who spoiled me.

What is your least favorite memory of Jordan? Lining up for punishment in school. When you did poorly on your work, they lined you up and slapped your open palms with a long wooden rod. I don’t think they do that anymore. Women still remain covered, however. Just 3 years ago, I went back for a visit, and I went out in a t-shirt with my cousins. It was so hot, but we had barely started walking and I had to go change and cover up. The stares were too much.

What’s something about you that surprises people? That I’m a believer, a Christian.

What would you do with a million dollars? Well, it’s not really a lot, but I would give some to charity and then I would only work part-time until I finished my degree.

Sound Off! Live for today, plan for tomorrow, and give a hand to someone who needs it without expecting something in return. GOD BLESS.

Leave a Reply

