Citizen Jessica

By: bmshep

May 14 2010

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Female Citizens

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:32mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:FinePix S5Pro

This is Jessica. Jessica was born in L.A. before coming up north to the Sac area. She graduated from Center High in Antelope and is now at Sac City College, getting some general ed done before starting Nursing School. Right out of high school she became certified as a nurse’s aid and home health aid. She currently works with the Triple R program at the Hart Senior Center, working with senior citizens dealing with dementia. She sets them up with activities and spends a lot of time talking and listening. She found the job on Craigslist (hey, it IS good for something!). Jessica has a two year old son named Julian. She got pregnant in high school, at 16, finding out after she had broken up with her boyfriend. She went into independent study and graduated a year early. So now Jessica is a single mom, living with her mother. Julian’s dad is involved, but Jessica bears the brunt of the daily working, studying and taking care of her son. Jessica’s favorite music is neo-soul, her favorite movie is Avatar, and her favorite book is the Bible. Jessica is 19.

Favorite Accomplishments: Finishing high school early, at 17, while both working and having my child.

Regrets: No regrets. You can’t really regret something that once made you happy, right?

What are your passions and obsessions? I love being a mother even though it happened to me at a young age. It taught me so much and I have to say, it’s the best job ever.

What would you do with a million dollars? I’d buy a home for me and my son. Give some to my parents. I’d buy my son lots of trains and try to save some.

What’s the toughest thing you’ve gone through? My pregnancy. I was 16 and scared. I didn’t really know what to do, but good things came out of it.

What’s the hardest thing about being a mom? Giving up the ‘young life’ I never really had, going out and having fun. I feel kind of old already.

What’s something that surprises people about you? That I’m a mom!

Sound off! Life is truly what you make of it. God is love.

Leave a Reply

