Citizen Bernadeen

By: bmshep

Mar 06 2010

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Female Citizens

5 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:27mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/200 sec
Camera:FinePix S5Pro

This is Bernadeen. I met Bernadeen outside of Asha Yoga on 20th st., she had just finished a class with her stepmother Coco. Bernadeen was born in Palo Alto, but moved to Maryland when she was young. There, she grew up, went to high school, graduated from Montgomery College, got married, had a son, got divorced, and recently moved back to California. In fact the whole family moved back. Bernadeen, her mother, her stepmother ( they actually prefer the term ‘lovemother’), and her 13 year old son. They’ve been back 6 months now. Bernadeen is a marketing consultant. In Maryland, she worked at the YMCA for 17 years, with marketing and fundraising duties. Her favorite music, right now, is the Black Eyed Peas, Coldplay, a Valentine’s mix cd she put together, and always Ella. She has a bad kettlecorn habit that has been hard to kick. She gave it up for Lent, but she’s not Catholic. She was born on the 4th of July. Bernadeen is 34.

Favorite Accomplishments: Moving cross-country, back to California. Making space and time for my lovely son. Challenging myself to really learn to love myself. Completing a five week yoga challenge. Cultivating independent work and springing out of the box I was in.

Regrets: I don’t have any regrets. I wouldn’t be who I am or where I am without all of my life’s experiences. Ugly, beautiful, swampy, or fantastic – they are all mine.

What are your passions/obsessions? Yoga. My family. Taking care of our minds and bodies. My gorgeous friends. Music of all kinds. Sunshine. Travel (somewhere next to the ocean). Recycling. I am sad to say that I am obsessed with kettlecorn. And vertically challenged people. Well, and people with Downs Syndrome. They have such happiness about them and they have lovely spirits.

What is something about you, that even people who know you, would be surprised by? Even though I’m half black, I don’t believe in Affirmative Action. Skin color should have nothing to do with why you get a job.

Sound Off! After feeling crushed within my heart for a long time, I have recognized that all the love and support I need is always present, ever revolving and nourishing.

Thanks Bernadeen (and Coco)!

5 comments on “Citizen Bernadeen”

  1. I know and love Bernadeen very much. She is a fantastic friend and great person…you couldnt have picked a better person to interview.

  2. Very lovely – both the comments and photograph. I especially like the comment about no regrets because all our experiences make us who we are, even the “swampy” ones.

  3. Bernadeen is truly a lovely young woman who is ever evolving. She is funny, intelligent and warm and an excellent conversationalist. I count her as one of my dearest friends… luckily she is also my child! She has had an incredible journey and I look forward to seeing what happens next!

  4. I really appreciate that Brad is doing this project. The idea that we are so different yet connected citizens of the world is lovely.

    Also, please note that my mom and ‘lovemother’ Coco relocated to Sacramento in 2005 and that my son and I have recently joined them.

    Thank you all for the warm and kind comments as well.

  5. Hey Brad-
    Contact me if you’d like some more people for your project…I’ve lost your email address. Hope to hear from you soon-


Leave a Reply

