Citizen Susan

By: bmshep

Feb 27 2010

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: Female Citizens

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:35mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:FinePix S5Pro

This is Susan. Susan cautiously accepted my intrusion tonight at Safeway on 19th. Who is this guy with a sock hat and camera, asking me about regrets, while I’m selling Girl Scout cookies with my daughter? Susan was born in Dixon and lived there through high school and then moved to Sac. She worked at UC Davis in Human Resources as an analyst for 24 years, before having to take early medical retirement. Susan has had her share of pain and then some, including 4 back surgeries and asthma. Still she smiles for a stranger. She is a huge Kings fan, drives a purple car with a ‘Go Kings’ license plate, wears a purple sweater. She loves any music but opera. She is a mom and a homemaker now, and teaches sign language and Spanish, voluntarily, at her children’s school. On Saturdays, she coaches her daughter’s basketball team. Susan is 50.

Favorite Accomplishments: After 10 years of infertility, my husband and I foster adopted 3 children.

Regrets: Not going to college right out of high school and having that experience then.

What are your passions/obsessions? Mothering. The arts and music. I play the piano and clarinet, and I’m taking flute lessons. Woodwork and painting. I love to dance, I just do it with my cane, I don’t let it stop me. The Kings!

Sound Off! I’ve had some rough patches in my life, including now, but I can always find something positive in my day. It could always be worse. Pain is only temporary.

What was positive today? Fridays are the days, after I take the kids to school, I get back into bed with coffee and popcorn and watch a movie.

Thank you Susan. Good luck with everything.

Leave a Reply

