Citizen Sasha

By: bmshep

Feb 14 2010

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Female Citizens

4 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:24mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/20 sec
Camera:FinePix S5Pro

This is Sasha. I met Sasha at the “If I Was Your Girlfriend” Prince tribute party tonight at Clubhouse 24. Her band Sasha and the Shamrocks opened the event that was a benefit for music education in Sacramento. They rocked a set of Prince covers! Sasha was born in the Bay Area and now lives in Grass Valley with her husband (sorry guys) who is also the drummer in the band. She describes their sound as Spook-a-billy and her influences are good ol’ 80’s goth bands like the Cure and Siouxsie and the Banshees. Besides being a musician, she’s an office manager in an alternative medicine practice and runs an online vintage clothing store called Astral Boutique. Sasha is 35.

Favorite Accomplishments: Having the balls to finally start performing music live. Working through the normal challenges of a relationship and being with my beloved husband for almost 18 years!

Regrets: I wish I wasn’t such a late bloomer socially. I sometimes feel I am doing right now what I could have done 10 years ago if I’d had the courage. Also I think about the times I may have hurt people’s feelings in moments of egotism, fear, or anger.

What are your passions/obsessions? I have a one track mind. I obsess about one thing at a time, wear the same outfit all week, listen to the same CD all month. Right now I’m obsessed with the color purple, the Lord of the Rings books, taking pictures of mushrooms, moss, and lichen in my backyard, and 1960’s psychedelic Cambodian rock. (Go Dengue Fever!)

What’s your favorite Prince song? Little Red Corvette. I first heard it when I was a kid in the hotel bathroom when my family and I were on vacation. Even then I knew he was special.

Sound Off! I wish I could always remember, without being morbid, how short life really is. Then I would appreciate every moment more and be more open to each day and each person. Lately, I was reminded of the brevity of life a few times and I feel like I am more present for it.

Thank you Sasha.

http://www.myspace.com/sashaandtheshamrocks

http://www.etsy.com/shop/AstralBoutique

 

4 comments on “Citizen Sasha”

  1. Brad, I love this whole project- thanks so much for including me! This is one of the best pictures I’ve ever seen of myself, so thanks for that, too! Best of luck on an awesome and inspiring endeavor. (-:

  2. Lovely interview. Applause, Sasha! You’re amazing!

    Haley/ohvotrecoeur

  3. Thanks Sasha! It was great meeting you, and I had very little to do with you looking so good in that picture ;-). Hope to see you guys playing again soon!

  4. I was at the Prince Party and loved hearing you–it’s totally cool that you’re on this blog as well. Great interview and now I can find out where you’re playing, too!


Leave a Reply

