Citizen Janee

By: bmshep

Feb 11 2010

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Female Citizens

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4.5
Focal Length:28mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:FinePix S5Pro

This is Janee. I met Janee in the cafeteria at American River College tonight. She’s been in jail for the past two weeks after getting pulled over with her mom, who had some needles and meth in her purse. Janee had not finished some community service a while back so the cops took her in. They smashed her mom’s needles and let her go. She’s spent most of her life living in the shadow of her mom’s addiction and dealing with the fallout. Janee has made some missteps in her life as well, as we all have, but she is clean and trying to stay in school and help her 16 year old brother stay on the right path. She wants to be a probation officer and after class tonight she is going to a friends house to have the word ‘strength’ tattooed on her ribs. She is a Sac native and has never left town. Janee is 23.

Favorite Accomplishments: Graduating high school and having a career plan. Trying to finish my education and not getting pregnant. I abstain from physical relationships. I took care of 8 of my family members with a part time job and a full time school schedule, when they lost their home in So Cal.

Regrets: I had a DUI 3 years ago that seems to forever hold me back.

What are your passions/obsessions: Taking care of my loved ones and my education.

Why do you want to be a probation officer? At one point my mom was in the Prop. 36 program. It was the most normal period of my life. She was sober, we had dinner as a family every night. Helping her helped me. I want to help others do that.

What’s your favorite music? Country. I love Patsy Cline. My mom used to be able to sing and we would sing ‘Crazy’.

Sound Off! Be cool, stay in school!

Thanks Janee. Keep your head up, you can do it.

Leave a Reply

