Citizen Kourosh

By: bmshep

Feb 04 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Male Citizens

3 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:40mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:FinePix S5Pro

This is Kourosh. I met Kourosh at American River College tonight. He’s studying to be a civil engineer. Kourosh is from Iran and has lived in the U.S. for 5 years, most of it in the Bay Area. He worked there as a model for three years. He is open to moving back to Iran, but really wants to live in Orange County, where there is a large Persian population. He loves Iran, but not their current President and we agreed that governments get in the way of people connecting, as most Iranians like the American people, just not the policies of our government. Iranians are much fonder of Obama than Bush, he says.  Kourosh is 24.

Favorite Accomplishments: Going to school. I don’t like it, but I am forcing myself.

Regrets: That I’m too lazy to study. That I spend too much money on traveling and other interests. I don’t watch my budget.

What are your passions/obsessions? Soccer and swimming and traveling. I love to travel.

What do you love about Iran? That you always have your family around you to support you. Family ties are much closer in Iran than here in the U.S.

What do you like about the U.S.? The schools and visiting new places, seeing a new culture. To live here you have to stand on your own feet, I think that’s an important thing to learn. It was a bit of a culture shock to have to work. Most Persian families take care of their kids until they get married. I’ve worked at Walgreens, in construction, and as a security guard.

What’s your favorite music? I like current Persian pop music.

Sound Off! Everyone is working so hard to reach their goals. I don’t know if I am working hard enough, but I think I can reach my goals.

Thanks Kourosh.

3 comments on “Citizen Kourosh”

  1. What a photo, Brad! Well done. Also, all of us gals were oohing and aahaing over your profile of Mia. Too cute.

  2. Thanks Elaine!
    And Kourosh, if you are reading this, I have about 15 women who want your phone number!

  3. Those eyes are mesmerizing.


Leave a Reply

