Citizen Mia

By: bmshep

Jan 31 2010

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Female Citizens

8 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:85mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/20 sec
Camera:FinePix S5Pro

This is Mia. My beautiful wife. Besides being a wife, she is a mother, a pre-school assistant, a student, and occasional photographer. A lot of hats, but she wears them all well. Mia was born in Altadena and has lived mostly in Sacramento, except for a brief stay in Prescott, AZ, where we met. She said she was headed back to California and that I should come too. Thank God I made the right choice for once. This May, Mia will graduate from Sac State with a Social Work degree and then she will head into the graduate program. Today is Mia’s birthday and she is 35.

Favorite Accomplishments: Being married for 13 years and raising two amazing children. Going back to school and getting a degree. Overall, coming to a place in life where I am happy, grateful, and content. What more could you want?

Regrets: That my grandparents are not here to see this part of my life. Otherwise, every step I’ve made in life seems to be significant to where I am today and I wouldn’t trade it in.

What are your passions/obsessions? Seeing life through another lens. Exploring other countries and cultures. Good food, good wine and beer (IPA with lots of hops) , friends, nature, books, knowledge, music, the warmth of the sun on my skin. The list goes on….

What did your Grandparents teach you? What it means to have a family and the importance of volunteering my time to a cause.

Why social work? Ultimately, to advocate for others who have been marginilized in our system of inequality.

So why do you stay with a bum like me? Because you’re a good person. The kindness you show to everyone and your non-judgemental attitude towards myself and others. Oh, and you give good foot. (I’m a lucky bum!)

Sound Off! All the freaky people make the beauty in the world! (OK, I stole that from Michael Franti, but I like it.)

Thanks Mia. I love you.

8 comments on “Citizen Mia”

  1. Happy Birthday Again!
    Citizen Mia Rocks!

  2. Happy Birthday Mia! A perfect citizen for today….nice work Brad.

  3. She is so beautiful…inside and out!

  4. How beautiful! Brad, Mia is your best citizen yet.

  5. What a fine citizen, in all kinds of ways, not the least of which is that you look so happy & beautiful; radiant, I think, is the word. Happy Birthday Mia!

  6. Happy Birthday Mia

  7. Brad, what a great pic of our favorite lady. She is the best thing to happen to both of us. We’re a couple of lucky dudes.

  8. Happy Birthday again. I remember the day Mia Rebecca was born-1-31-75 at home on Mar Vista, Altadena. It was a glorious day, Dad was nervous, Tim and Chris were no doubt in trouble somewhere and Mia was taking her time in arriving, as I recall…but it was worth the wait. She of course was a beautiful baby and never changed.

    Mia is beautiful both mentally and physically and she has always been such a joy in my life. I can remember her first steps running toward me in my home in Sierra Madre. I love her very much – she is a terrific daughter, granddaughter, wife, mother, great student and will make a super Social Worker. Don’t ever change,Mia. You are so loved. Grandma Gloria


Leave a Reply

