Citizen Angela

By: bmshep

Jan 16 2010

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Female Citizens

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4.5
Focal Length:17mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/50 sec
Camera:FinePix S5Pro

This is Angela. Angela is my son’s jazz dance teacher at Step One, where she also took dance lessons as a kid. She has been teaching at Step One since 2003. Angela teaches (and dances) jazz, hip-hop, and ballet. She started as a ballet student, and jokes that she didn’t like it much, too slow. But she insists you need the foundation that jazz and ballet dance can give you.  Angela is 26.

Favorite Accomplishments: Dance related – In 2005 while dancing with the Sacramento State dance team, we placed 1st in the national championships in Las Vegas. In my personal life – my two beautiful daughters!

Regrets: I wish I would have taken more photos when I was pregnant, but at the time I felt like a whale and avoided the camera.

What are your passions/obsessions? I love dance in all forms. Movement in itself is pure art. I’m obsessed with cleaning and organizing every closet and drawer in my house.

When did you know you wanted to be a dancer? From my first class at age 3 I loved dance. It wasn’t until High School (Del Campo), that I realized dance could serve as an outlet from stress and any other emotion I may be feeling. That was when I knew dance would always be a part of my life.

Influences: My mother took me to the Nutcracker when I was very small and I fell in love. My father was a martial artist. I saw his movement as an art form similar to dance. I also loved watching professional tap dancer Savion Glover and in ballet, Mikhail Baryshnikov.

Are you going to try out for “So, You Think You Can Dance?” No!

What do you think of that show? They should put more emphasis on the choreographers. The couples who are dancing the more popular styles do better, even if they aren’t dancing as well as a couple performing, say, the foxtrot, or another less popular style.

Sound Off! Dance!

Thank you Angela.

Leave a Reply

